First time French win for Nole and Garbine Muguruza at Roland Garros 2016!

I started watching and loving tennis just because of the French open tournament. This is my favorite among all the grand slams. I really don’t why but I just love it. Watching all these clay court matches gives me immense joy!

maxresdefault

Youtube.com

Today, I just want go back and remember all those great players like Gullermo Coria, Justin Henin, Kim Clijsters, David Nalbandian, Carlos Moya and many more to whom watching I had a great time. I do hope I will keep on having such great time for a long time to come.

Okay, let us come back to present now.

1856537-39127951-2560-1440

Eurosport.com

Year 2016, French Open crown goes to two first timers. Yes Novak Djokovic and Garbine Muguruza have won the men’s and women’s respective grand slams for the very first time.

Thus Novak Djokovic has completed career grand slam. This one took a little more time for him to win but yes he did it.

I am disappointed with Andy Murray but in a way it’s good that now he has all runner up trophies. I do hope he will do better than this in near future.

There is great news for Indian Tennis lovers as well. Yes, yes Leander Paes and his incredible partner Martina Hingis both of them have completed the career grand slam in mixed doubles. Huge achievement!!!

So let’s see what they have said on the winning point:

“I don’t even remember what happened. It was really one of those things… moments where you just try to be there. It’s like my spirit has left my body and I was just observing my body, going left to right and hoping that Andy will make a mistake, which happened. And, yeah, a thrilling moment. One of the most beautiful I have had in my career.”
– Novak Djokovic

b_JJ_0706_01_DJOKOVICrolandgarros.com

 

“I was like ‘Did I win Roland Garros? What happened?’ When he said ‘game, set, and match’, I was like, ‘No way! I won?’ It was, like, amazing. I didn’t know what to do, honestly. To jump? To go to the floor? At the moment, I’m like heart attack almost!”

– Garbine Muguruza

2016 French Open - Day Fourteen

getty images

“She’s a greater champion off the court than she even is on the court. She handles adversity amazingly with a lot of grace. She handles tough situations very easily. When we get on the court, she’s one of the world’s best communicators, and that’s why I love playing with her.”

– Leander Paes, on winning the mixed doubles with Martina Hingis

Leave a Reply

