Saina Nehwal is the 2016 Australian Badminton Open Champion!

The 2016 XiamenAir Australian Badminton Open was held on 7 June to 12 June 2016 at Sydney, Australia.

The great news is that our very own Saina Nehwal is the champion this year, isn’t it incredible? This is her first SuperSeries title of the year. She was the winner of this same tournament in the year 2014 as well.


She is an aggressive and a real hard working player. Point to note here is that despite being top ranked player in the world she is so down to earth. She is simple human being. I love her for that.

Do you know what she said when Virat Kohli praised her on tweeter for winning the title?

“I want to play aggressive like you!”


See, that hunger for the game, the hunger for improvement. That is the mark of a true champion!

Well done Saina. You make us proud.


Winners of Australian Badminton Open 2016 are:

  • Mixed doubles: Lu Kai and  Huang Yaqiong
  • Women’s doubles: Bao Yixin and Chen Qingchen
  • Men’s doubles: Markus Fernaldi Gideon and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo
  • Men’s single: Hans-Kristian Vittinghus
  • Women’s single: Saina Nehwal

image source: Australian open official site


3 thoughts on “Saina Nehwal is the 2016 Australian Badminton Open Champion!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s