Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk creates history by winning his first Superseries Premier Title in Denmark!

Dear All,

Recently concluded Denmark open has new men’s singles champion this time. Relatively unknown player from Thailand Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk took the world by storm to enter into his maiden Superseries Premier final. He became the Thailand’s first player to win a Superseries title in men’s singles category. It was a nice gesture from him when he dedicated the victory to Thai king who passed away recently.


Japanese young sensation Akane Yamaguchi won the women’s singles title this time. Having won the Korea open, this is her second consecutive title of the year. In coming years she is THE player to look out for. What a temperament this girl has!


Winners are:

Women’s doubles – Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi

Yonex Denmark Open Badminton - Day Two

Mixed doubles – Christinna Pedersen and Joachim Fischer Nielsen


Indians at Denmark open

In the history of Danish open till now, only two Indian shuttlers Saina Nehwal and Prakash Padukone have won this title.

As far as 2016 Danish open Indian performance is concerned H.S. Prannoy fought bravely in the second set of the second round against world number 1 Lee Chong Wei.  Ajay Jayaram too lost in the second round of the tournament. P.V. Sindhu produced the similar result.

Image credit

BWF fansite



Record 6th time win for Lee Chong Wei at 2016 Japan Open!

Dear Readers,

Japan Open is one of the BWF’s super series tournaments, held in Tokyo, Japan.

Do read my earlier post on BWF super series tournaments here.

Well… Let us get started with the updates from 2016 Japan Open.

Lee Chong Wei has won this title for the record 6th time. In the 70 minute thrilling battle against Denmark’s Jan O Jorgensen, Lee emerged as winner with the score of 21-18, 15-21, 21-16.


After winning the title , Lee said that he is so proud to be a winner for the 6th time and he is going to cherish this win and hopes that no will break his record. Lee is Olympic silver medal winner in Rio Olympic. The Malaysian has won three Superseries this year — in Malaysia, Indonesia and now Japan .

It was Jorgensen who started well in the first game, Lee started bit slowly initially but still managed to take the opener. Jorgensen kept coming hard and thus he won the second game by 15-21. The match went for the decider. With 6-2 lead in the third game, it looked like Jorgensen is going to be the winner but Lee fought back to take the score to 17-16. It was very crucial moment and Jorgensen started making mistakes which cost him and finally Lee took the decider by 21-16.

It was Rio Olympic  final repeat match for Women’s doubles player but this time Danish pair Christinna Pedersen and  Kamilla Rytter Juhl emerged victorious against  Japanese world number one Ayaka Takahashi and Misaki Matsutomo. Japanese pair took the first game by 21 -19. The second game went to Danish women and they took it by 21-18 and  decider was one-sided affair with the score of 21-12 Overall it was high-intensity match with long rallies. It was a good treat for the spectators like us.


It was the first super series title for 19 year Chinese player He Bingjiao.  She is currently ranked 13th in the world. In the final, she won against her own country woman sun Yu by 21-14, 7-21, 21-18.  Despite being down 0-7 in the third game, she did not lose her calm and played brilliantly to win her first superseries title in her first attempt.It was good to see Chinese dominance.

Men’s doubles match was not something you would have anticipated. The young Chinese player Li Junhui/Liu Yuchen dominated from the start to their Korean opponents.Koreans Ko Sung Hyun and Kim Gi Jung lost the one-sided match by 21-12,21-12 in straight games in just 37 minutes.

The trouble did not end there for Ko Sung Hyun. He and his mixed doubles partner Kim Ha Na were outclassed by  Chinese Zheng Siwei and Chen Qingchen in just over 30 minutes by 21-10 21-15.

As far as Indian performance is concerned, Srikanth Kidambi’s quest for the title ended in the quarterfinal.


img credit bwfbadminton site and bwfworldsuperseries



No Indian to hold the Siri Fort at Delhi, India Open 2016!

Well… Last year around this time at Delhi we had our very own men and women’s Champions. Kidambi Srikanth and Saina Nehwal were fell short to defend their respective titles this year.

This edition of India open had quite a few upsets. Star players Lin Dan and Lee Chong Wei bowed out during the initial stage of the tournament. Women’s doubles pair from Denmark Christiana Pedersen and her partner Kamillia lost in tough 3 game match to the eventual champions.

The regaining Destination Dubai masters winner Japanese Kento Momota was happy to clinch the men’s single title performing better than Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen in the final. The score was 21-15, 21-18


Thai sensation Ratchanok Intanon won the title for the record 2nd time by out casting Chinese Li Xuerui. Ratchanok’s play was superb and yet simple. With great confidence and skills Ratchanok beat Xuerui in two straight but tough games in the women’s final.

It was Li Xuerui the former world number one and Olympic gold winner, who showed the way out to Saina Nehwal in the quarterfinal. It was brutal match for Saina. It was heart breaking to watch the match which lasted more than 80 minutes. Saina lost in a tough 3 games by 20-22, 21-17, 19-21.

Recent All England Women’s Champions from Japan Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi got hold of the title by beating their own country women Naoko Fukuman and Kurumi Yonao.


It was quite interesting to see that this Japanese pair of Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi beat the Indonesian pair of Greysia Polii and Nitya Krishinda Maheswari (she is my favorite doubles playerJ) by 18-21, 21-19, 21-23 in a hard fought semifinal match which lasted over 90 minutes.

Indonesian men’s doubles pair of Gideon Markus Fernaldi and Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo clinched the title with easy win over pair from their own country. On their way to the championship they managed to beat the Chinese world number one pair Chai Biao and Hong Wei.

kai Lu and Huang Yaqiong of China managed to bag the mixed doubles title.


Overall, it was great event not dominated by single country.