Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk creates history by winning his first Superseries Premier Title in Denmark!

Dear All,

Recently concluded Denmark open has new men’s singles champion this time. Relatively unknown player from Thailand Tanongsak Saensomboonsuk took the world by storm to enter into his maiden Superseries Premier final. He became the Thailand’s first player to win a Superseries title in men’s singles category. It was a nice gesture from him when he dedicated the victory to Thai king who passed away recently.


Japanese young sensation Akane Yamaguchi won the women’s singles title this time. Having won the Korea open, this is her second consecutive title of the year. In coming years she is THE player to look out for. What a temperament this girl has!


Winners are:

Women’s doubles – Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi

Yonex Denmark Open Badminton - Day Two

Mixed doubles – Christinna Pedersen and Joachim Fischer Nielsen


Indians at Denmark open

In the history of Danish open till now, only two Indian shuttlers Saina Nehwal and Prakash Padukone have won this title.

As far as 2016 Danish open Indian performance is concerned H.S. Prannoy fought bravely in the second set of the second round against world number 1 Lee Chong Wei.  Ajay Jayaram too lost in the second round of the tournament. P.V. Sindhu produced the similar result.

Image credit

BWF fansite



Second Bronze win for Indian Women’s Badminton team at Uber Cup!

Our girls did it again!

Indian Women’s Badminton team consisting of Star Players Saina Nehwal, P V Sindhu, Jwala Gutta, N Sikki Reddy and Ruthvika Shivani Gadde stormed in to Uber Cup semifinal for the second time. In the semifinal clash they lost to eventual champion China. Having won the Bronze in 2014 edition of Uber cup, this is the second Bronze girls got home.


So let us see more about Uber Cup. When I heard about this event for the very first time, I was wondering who and when and why started this event?

Well… Former British player Betty Uber wanted to have this all women players playing event based on the similar idea and format of Thomas cup (This event is for men’s Badminton players). So this is how it was named after her. The first edition was held in the year 1956 at England. Since then after every two years the event happens.

In 2016 edition of Uber Cup, India was placed in Group D along with Japan, Germany and Australia. In Group stage matches Indian Women had a fantastic 5-0 score against Germany and Australia. They were narrowly lost by 2-3 to Japan.

In the Quarterfinal against Thailand it was smooth sailing as the score line was 3-1.

In the Semifinal against China, it was one sided affair as both Saina and P V Sindhu, along with doubles players Jwala Gutta and Sikki Reddy all lost to mighty Chinese players.

Nevertheless this is a fantastic win and a big achievement for our country, for our Badminton!

Kudos to you girls!!

Image credit : BWF site